A Brief Reflection on Dying-In

University of Louisville students held a die-in today at noon to protest police brutality and honor the victims murdered by police.

I first saw the names of the victims on the bulletin boards. The names covered the entire board. Why is that something people don’t see as troubling? How can we be okay when so many people have died that their names can cover an entire wall? How can anyone insist there is no problem?

The Student Activities Center was a powerful sight. There were people lined up all the way down past the ramp. snapchat-5367938220436981105

My friend and I joined after our class. We hadn’t thought about what we would do exactly. I thought about all of the times I saw lives being taken on camera. I thought about the anger and the grief for them and their families.

We joined our peers in lying down. It was moving to see that other people immediately followed. We all didn’t know each other but we were connected by a cause.

It was oddly peaceful lying down on the concrete. Students would walk by, some silent, others going about normally. I could see some were uncomfortable.

This wasn’t about being comfortable. For me, it was about being taken outside of the college bubble. It was about remembering those that died at the hands of police. It was not about my comfort. It was about Tamir Rice, Sandra Bland, Philando Castile, Alton Sterling, Trayvon Martin, Eric Gardner, Oscar Grant, Korryn Gaines, and so many others.

It was about the lack of justice. The anger and fear that the Black community face on a daily basis. It was about those who could no longer feel peace.

I hope that this event continues to foster conversations. I hope that we don’t forget this powerful moment. Because how many more? How many more innocent lives will be taken to show America that the racism in this country has been and still is lethal?

If you don’t see the reason for the protest than I suggest you do your research. Ignorance is no longer an excuse when you have the world at your fingertips.

As for the University of Louisville, I am so proud that this happened on my campus. I am proud of the students who organized the protest. It was a touching and defining moment in UofL’s history to show that Black Lives Matter and that our voices will be heard.

 

 

One thought on “A Brief Reflection on Dying-In

Leave a Reply

