Summer ’16: A Weekend in Indy

I love Indianapolis. It’s one of the best cities I have ever been to. I have been there twice – once in February and once in July – both times I didn’t want to leave.

When I stay in Indy, I love to stay at Le Meridien Hotel. It is a four star hotel and can be a bit pricey but I think it’s worth it due to the perks you get. Along with a luxurious room, you have access to the mall without having to step outside of the hotel. You also get free entrance to the Indianapolis Museum of Art and access to the rooftop pool at the Sheraton Hotel. photo1jpg

You don’t have to walk far from the hotel to find something to do. The mall itself has a movie theater, arcade, golf course, and laser tag arena.

My favorite stand in the mall is Nick’s Cafe. They make delicious and refreshing smoothies and juices from fresh fruit and vegetables. They’re always very nice and polite. The cafe has lots of options if smoothies or juice aren’t your thing.

20160730_185448The rooftop pool provides an amazing view of the circle. It was a very nice way to spend a hot afternoon. The Sheraton staff are friendly and will give you a key to access the pool. They also have showers, bathrooms, tables, and couches on the roof that you can use at your leisure.

The Indianapolis Museum of Art was another wonder to see. The Le Meridien key gave us access to the museum and gardens. The museum is huge and has several interactive art exhibits.

The gardens are beautiful. You can tour the inside of the Lily House, which is a mansion that has been made into an exhibit showcasing different eras the house went through.

You can also visit the greenhouse and stroll through different gardens. The museum and grounds would take hours to tour completely.

20160731_161952
The Lily House.

Indianapolis also offers a wide array of restuarants. My favorites were Haveli Indian Cuisine, Yolk, and Weber’s Grill.

Yolk has a special place in my heart. It is hands down the best breakfast restaurant that I have ever been to. I wish they had a location in Louisville, but until then I will make sure to go to Yolk every time I visit Indy. You must eat the red velvet french toast from here before you die.

Indianapolis has a lot to offer. If you haven’t been, I would highly recommend a visit. It’s a great place for a weekend getaway without breaking the bank. Downtown alone has tons of places where you can have fun. I will definitely visit again.

20160731_144544
I took this at a wall near Yolk. I miss Indy.

 

One thought on “Summer ’16: A Weekend in Indy

Leave a Reply

